Christmas Blues Vs Holiday Euphoria

1483207_10202796037771058_2113145587_n

Today is Christmas Eve – I wish everyone reading this a MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

I love Christmas even though I often have trouble getting into the spirit. I don’t know why it is so difficult for me to get into Christmas mode – I guess because as the year gets to an end ,everything unfinished has to be done before the beginning of the new year which can be quite stressful. Students will know that teachers only realise in December that they still need test grades, so the few weeks before Christmas are rather filled with studying than anything else ;).

I also tend to get sad shortly before Christmas. Again I can’t really put my finger on it but I think that one expects Christmas to be the one day of the year to be happy, joyful and content, sometimes looking past all the things that have been bothering or troubling one in the months prior. I also miss my family that lives abroad and whom I don’t get to see that often. I am very close to them, so not being together at Christmas is hard for me.

As to not make this a sob story, I also have good things to tell. This year I vowed to myself I would work harder at getting into a good mood for Christmas. I engaged myself more in the whole preparations, did my own decorating and did not leave buying all the presents for the very last day ;)! So I was getting really excited!! However, today I am not quite that elevated but I do not mind that much because for me tomorrow, Christmas Day, is more important anyway. Where I live, here in Austria, the focus is actually more on the 24th of December rather than the 25th, with the opening of presents and big celebrations happening today. As my mother is from Jamaica, we always celebrated on the 25th, therefore our Christmas traditions differ from most people living here.

our little Christmas tree
our little Christmas tree
This is my favourite of all little Christmas decorations - I think it used to be my fathers but it has been in my room for Christmas ever since I can remember
This is my favourite of all little Christmas decorations – I think it used to be my fathers but it has been in my room for Christmas ever since I can remember

chriiistmas 2013 006

my own little Christmas tree in my room
my own little Christmas tree in my room

chriiistmas 2013 012

That is why I did not mind too much that I had to work today (I work at a clothing store). As I mentioned before, I do believe the importance put on this one holiday puts pressure on a lot of us when we should enjoy the time with our family and friends. Of course, there are some who take a more relaxed attitude towards the whole business. One customer, for example, who came in one hour before the shops closing to buy a watch, told me after paying that this was the first present he’s gotten this year. (To each his own haha…)

I even decorated myself a tiny bit...
I even decorated myself a tiny bit…

To conclude, I think one should try to focus on what is important and really value the time one gets with the ones we love. To all, I truly wish you a Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

