As promised in my last post Long Time No See, my new blog post is up this weekend. I am actually quite proud of myself for usually I almost never stick to the commitments I’ve made with myself!

Still not quite sure how I want to proceed I thought of writing about what I did in Vienna this week. One of my best friends has moved there to go to college – she is aspiring to become a costume designer – and I went to stay at her place because we had tickets for the encore screening of National Theatre Live’s Frankenstein. But more about that later (or maybe I’ll dedicate one post entirely to it).

I live in Salzburg, which is about 2½ hours by train away from Vienna. Unfortunately, I couldn’t stay there as long as I wanted because I had to work on Friday. So my trip basically was a two-day affair. After I had arrived, we had lunch and brought each other up-to-date on what was going on in our lives. We then went grocery shopping to get everything we needed while I was there and also, we decided to make milkshakes and drink them out of our fancy “hipster glasses” i had brought for myself and her a few months ago.

Our shopping cart filled with healthy and not so healthy stuff
Our shopping cart filled with healthy and not so healthy stuff
We ate homemade carrot cake while slurping out shakes
We ate homemade carrot cake while slurping out shakes

It was quite fun even though it did feel a bit like a “kids birthday party”: we prepared the milkshakes for each other and as neither of us had made one before we just threw all ingredients (milk, ice cream, and cookies) in and sort of mixed them together. We prepared for an extreme sugar explosion upon first trying it but it wasn’t as sweet as I’d expected.

In the evening we went to see the encore screening of Frankenstein, National Theatre’s 2011 production by Danny Boyle starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Jonny Lee Miller. The National Theatre often broadcasts performances shown in London live for people living in the rest of the UK and the World to see at their local cinema. Frankenstein was playing there three years ago and broadcasted live back then, but as there had been an “unprecedented audience demand” the recording is being shown again this month. We were really excited to see it for we’ve had our tickets for almost two months and I thought it was amazing!!!

The next morning I had to get up reaaally early because my friend had to leave the house at 7:20 to go to school. I went to see my other closest friend (as a matter of fact, all of my closest friends happen to have moved to Vienna after we had graduated from high school) with whom I had a big breakfast.

Leaving Vienna always feels weird because I never really want to leave. I’ve never considered it to be a particularly exciting city, in comparison to Salzburg, though, I guess it is, but all my friends are there now, so it’s hard to say goodbye.

This was a short account of what’s been going on the past few days with me. I’m still trying to figure out how I’m going to continue with blogging, i.e. when and how often will I post something etc. Right now, I am aiming at at least once a week! We’ll see how it goes :)

Leave a Reply

