Importance of Dreaming

Hold fast to dreams

For if dreams die

Life is a broken-winged bird

That cannot fly.

Langston Hughes

These are the first lines of Langston Hughes’ poem “Dreams”. I think it is so beautiful, meaningful, and at the same time very “accessible”. Although I love poetry I often cannot recite even my favourite poems – this is one of the few exceptions.

The poem actually consists of two quatrains; a fact which I was unaware of until just know! As I have originally first read, and ultimately fallen in love with, only the first four lines I decided to post only these, but in case you would like to read the whole, check it out!

One thought on “Importance of Dreaming

Leave a Reply

