What I’ve been up to…

Right now I am quite busy with school work, partly because there actually is a lot to do but also because I am a procrastinator. I am not proud of it but it’s true. At the moment there are several things that need to get done: I’m writing a paper (and then have to hold a presentation) on the Scottish Independence Referendum particularly focusing on its representation in the media using CDA (Critical Discourse Analysis). The course I am doing this research for is Media Communication. So far we have been looking at the different ways certain facts and information can be presented in the news and which “tricks” there are to steer the readers or audience and influence their views (without them noticing). CDA is useful to uncover these tactics, which range from highlighting or omitting information to using particular word groups and families to refer to people and events (and of course many, many more). Having once gotten into understanding its concept properly, it really is fascinating. I realized that I was quite unaware of the various methods used to twist facts, views, and also truths, so it definitely made me more observant when reading.

I am also preparing a 5 minute “academic” presentation on Tennessee Williams whom I’ve already written a blog post on. I find it quite difficult to squeeze everything (or anything) into that short time, I’ve got to admit but I will figure it out.

Apart from that, I have just started reading John Steinbeck’s The Grapes of Wrath. I’ve recently finished The Crucible (Arthur Miller), which I had to read for Uni and Posh (Laura Wade), which I decided to read after having missed seeing the movie adaption at the cinema. I am excited about Grapes of Wrath as I’ve never read anything by Steinbeck even though I always wanted to.

Yesterday I watched Atonement (2007) again. We are currently analysing it in Understanding Film but I won’t get into it now as I will dedicate an entire post to it.

That’s pretty much all from me for now.

As I think posts without any pictures can look "empty" I thought of sharing this pic I took last Friday :) It's my hometown, Salzburg, and no, it is not this sunny anymore :(
As I think posts without any pictures can look “empty” I thought of sharing this pic I took last Friday :) It’s my hometown, Salzburg, and no, it is not this sunny anymore :(
Leave a Reply

