‘Tis the Season…

tis-the-season-cathie-tyler

It’s this time of year. Christmas is in only two days and the past weeks have been spent equally in preparation and desperation. I think I might be speaking for more than just myself when I say that the last month of each year is not always jolly. We (my family) usually don’t get by without a big(ger) fight – I blame the amount of “togetherness”! But at the end of the day that’s not that important, really. I do find it difficult truly getting into the Christmas spirit, though, as there usually are tons of stuff to do like Uni work, etc. This year, my family and I had planned to make more of an effort to enjoy the advent season. We sort of managed but not as much as we’d hoped. Oh, well.

Yesterday, my mother and I decorated our tree. A few weeks ago we’d already started making our flat look more Christmassy.

Our little working station out on the balcony
Our little working station out on the balcony
DIY Door Wreath
DIY Door Wreath

Another point on our list of things we needed to do was to preserve fruit in alcohol for our Christmas cake. I might add that we still haven’t gotten around to baking that cake yet!!!

Fruits drowned in port wine for the Christmas Cake
Fruits drowned in port wine for the Christmas Cake

Even though I was pretty stressed with school work, I did get to hang out with friends and my so-called “extended family”, our former neighbours: my mother’s best friend and my substitute siblings. During Uni breaks we went to the Christmas and Advent markets. I even went ice skating once, which was more torture than fun. And, of course, there was some traditional Christmas shopping!

Having some hot Christmas punch at the advent market (Christkindlmarkt)
Having some hot Christmas punch at the advent market (Christkindlmarkt)
putting on happy faces
putting on happy faces
Chinking glasses with our "extended fam" :)
Chinking glasses with our “extended fam” :)
Shopping Madness
Shopping Madness
Four Candles of Advent
Four Candles of Advent
Our Tree
Our Tree

Also, this year’s Christmas is a bit of a new experience for me as I don’t remember ever celebrating a “snow-free” Christmas. Where I’m from (Austria), snow normally has fallen by Halloween and the whole town is definitely covered in white at Christmas. Winters have gotten warmer since my childhood but this is the very first time that there hasn’t been any snow at all (and it looks like there won’t be any). I actually am not that big a fan of snow, so I don’t really mind; however, witnessing this extreme change in climate is…frightening.

To come to an end: I wish all of you who celebrate a Merry Christmas, relaxing holidays and lots of food and presents :)

Leave a Reply

