My Weekend Getaway to London

So, as my last post already revealed, I went to London for a weekend getaway. Originally I thought I would write while on the trip but realised pretty soon that that won’t be the case as I was just too tired after running around the whole day.

Taken by me the morning of my departure - just an attempt at hipster-instagram-savviness
Taken by me the morning of my departure – just an attempt at hipster-instagram-savviness

All in all, I truly loved the trip. I’ve mentioned that London is my favourite city and that definitely hasn’t changed. It was my friend’s first time in the big city and her London bug has bitten, as well. Apart from minor complications, everything worked out the way we wanted it to and we really enjoyed it.

Things that went wrong:

The first thing that didn’t go as planned happened right after our arrival at Stansted airport. We were to take the Stansted Express into London; however, after almost half the journey we were held up due to overhead line problems and were, therefore, stuck in the lovely town of Harlow. Not wanting to wait for over 3 hours and being a bit in a hurry as we needed to get to the V&A in time for the exhibition, we decided to get off the train, take a cab to the closest tube station Epping (which is also the furthest from central London…), and just get to Earls Court and our hotel via underground. In fact, I didn’t mind this change of plan that much and probably would have found it funny if it wasn’t for our time issue and that it did wind up being rather pricey.

DSCN0039

This wasn’t the only time we had to call a cab, though. After our visit at the Victoria and Albert museum (more on that later) and dinner, we came up with the brilliant idea of checking out Piccadilly Circus and some of the “famous landmarks” like Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden, Big Ben and Westminster at night. While these are absolutely worth looking at at night — especially Piccadilly with its flashing lights — we did not take our “getting home options” into consideration and found out too late that the tubes stop between midnight and 1 am. There we were, miles from our hotel, in the middle of the night with no clue how to get back and as we were too stupid to understand the bus system (some bus lines do go 24 hours), we just took a cab. On top of that, I almost lost my bag as I’d forgotten it in the back of the taxi; luckily, I did notice it right after getting out when the driver was already driving off. As you can see, it was quite a day.

Next time we know better!
Next time we know better!
Piccadilly Circus
Piccadilly Circus

IMG_8192

My shameless London Eye selfie ;)
My shameless London Eye selfie ;)

Art & Fashion

One of the reasons we chose to go to London in March instead of waiting for the summer break when we would have more time was that we wanted to see the V&A’s special exhibition on the fashion designer Alexander McQueen. I’m not going to gush too much about it here as there are already tons of people more adequate (= fashion bloggers) writing and posting about it but I’m going to say that it was absolutely amazing!! Each room was assigned with a particular theme suiting the various collections and they did not only differ in the clothing displayed but there also was a change in the rooms’ design, the lighting, and the music.

My favourite part of the exhibition.
My favourite part of the exhibition.

The V&A wasn’t the only cultural go-to on our list – on Saturday, we also went to Saatchi Gallery (obviously, there are sooo many museums and galleries to visit in London). It was a nice contrast to the rather “classical” (for lack of better words) Victoria and Albert museum with its beautiful building and ornamental interior: Saatchi is modern, different, edgy, and unconventional.

IMG_8288 IMG_8290 IMG_8292IMG_8295

Food

Undoubtedly, it’s no secret that you can get great, no amazing, food in London and as I allowed myself to take a break from lent, I could indulge in some delicious meals. Among them was my very first Nando’s dinner, a lovely three-course-meal at Comptoir, a Lebanese restaurant, some good ol’ fish ‘n’ chips (eaten at a little Notting Hill place with walls covered in framed pictures of Diana), and all the tasty titbits from the various stalls at Camden Market. As it was all very pleasing to the eye as well, here are some of my favourite pics.

Some Nando's chicken burger with fries, Lili had the beanie burger, and we shared the avocado and bean salad.
Some Nando’s chicken burger with fries, Lili’s beanie burger, and our shared avocado and bean salad.
My delicious Fresh Rose Mint tea.
My delicious Fresh Rose Mint Tea.
Hommos for starters.
Hommos for starters.
My main course: Fattet Lamb Kibbeh
My main course: Fattet Lamb Kibbeh
Lili's main course: Falafel wrap
Lili’s main course: Falafel wrap
and last but not least the dessert: Lebanese pastries Bokaj, Hadath, and Baklava
and last but not least the dessert: Lebanese pastries Bokaj, Hadath, and Baklava
IMG_8315
Need I say more?
IMG_8314
Diana: not only England’s rose but also Queen of that restaurant.
Stroll around Camden Market's food stalls
Stroll around Camden Market’s food stalls

IMG_8350

My first chia pudding!!
My first chia pudding

Summary

The whole weekend was a complete blast and went by much too quickly. Other things we did were taking strolls around Kensington Gardens, doing some shopping on Oxford Street, taking a quick look through Harrods, spending Sunday morning at Camden Market, and experiencing a beautiful pastel-coloured sunset close to Buckingham Palace. Needless to say, I can’t wait to go back!!!

IMG_8276
Kensington Gardens

IMG_8277

Me with my childhood hero Peter Pan <3
Me with my childhood hero Peter Pan
IMG_8337
Town crier at Camden
So beautiful!!
So beautiful!!
3 thoughts on “My Weekend Getaway to London

Leave a Reply

